Location

Middlehead is situated in a beutiful corner of North Yorkshire with a huge assorment of activiteis on offer and sights to see...

Eating out Places to go Amenities

Tourist Information

The North York Moors National Park, Ryedale and the Pickering area have so much to offer. Discover wildlife, historic buildings, archaeology, gardens, landscapes and picturesque villages. To find out what`s going on when you are visiting us, www.visitryedale.co.uk will give you information to ensure a happy, rewarding and interesting stay. Below are a few helpful websites:

North Yorkshire Coast - www.discoveryorkshirecoast.com

Moors Information - Moors Bus - www.moorsbus.org

Coastliner Bus www.yorkshirecoastliner.co.uk 

North Yorkshire Moors Association - www.northyorkmoorstourism.com

Abbeys and Churches

We have many important Cistercian abbeys left over from their hey day in the 12th Century. Fountains Abbey is a little way off but well worth a visit, walk up from Studley Royal for a wonderful experience. Pickering Parish of St Peter and St Paul has important medieval wall paintings, while over the way Middleton Church has a collection of important Viking and Celtic crosses.

Pickering Parish of St Peter and St Paul, Pickering - www.bbc.co.uk/northyorkshire   

Rosedale Abbey, Rosedale - www.dalesman.co.uk/walks/rosedale.htm

Rievaulx Abbey, Helmsley - www.english-heritage.org.uk/rievaulxabbey

Rievaulx Terrace and Temples, Helmsley - www.nationaltrust.org.uk 

York Minster, York - www.yorkminster.org

Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden, Nr Ripon - www.fountainsabbey.org.uk

Castles

Many of the towns and villages around had castles although Thornton le Dale’s is reduced to humps in a field. Pickering Castle is well worth a visit if only for the space and the views.

Pickering Castle, Pickering - www.english-heritage.org.uk/pickeringcastle

Helmsley Castle, Helmsley - www.english-heritage.org.uk/helmsleycastle

Scarborough Castle, Scarborough – 

www.english-heritage.org.uk/scarboroughcastle 

York Clifford’s Tower, York - www.yorkcastle.com

Gardens

North Yorkshire is considered to be the county with the most beautiful gardens in the United Kingdom. We certainly have plenty to choose from either open on a regular basis or for occasional charity open gardens.

Bridestones, Dalby Forest - www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Helmsley Walled Gardens, Helmsley - www.helmsleywalledgarden.co.uk

Lowna Daffodil Walk, Farndale – In the spring time 

Roseberry Topping, Newton-under-Roseberry - www.walkingenglishman.com/northyorkshire01.html

Thorp Perrow Arboretum & Woodland Garden & Falconry Centre, Bedale -www.thorpperrow.com

Walled Gardens Scampston, Malton - www.scampston.co.uk

Castle Howard Grounds, York - www.castlehoward.co.uk

Burnby Hall Gardens, Pocklington - www.burnbyhallgardens.com

Harrogate Flower Show, Harrogate – www.flowershow.org.uk

Nunnington Hall Walled Garden, Nunnington www.nationaltrust.org.uk/nunnington-hall/

Duncombe Park with yew walk, Helmsley - www.duncombepark.com

Newby Hall - www.newbyhall.co.uk

Harlow Carr, on the edge of Harrogate is the RHS Northern Centre - www.rhs.org.uk/harlowcarr

Private Gardens are often opened for a day or two for charity, useful websites to check are – 

Music

Music from the quirky Shed to the gardens of Castle Howard and the huge range of music at the Ryedale festival. It’s worth checking the events in advance.

Ryedale Festival, Pickering - www.ryedalefestival.co.uk

Concerts in Dalby Forest, nr Thornton le Dale - www.forestry.gov.uk/music

Helmsley Arts Centre, Helmsley - www.helmsleyarts.co.uk

The Shed, Brawby - www.theshed.co.uk

"For the past 14 years, The Shed has been responsible for some of the smallest and most inspired art events in the country." Alfred Hickling. Guardian.

Concerts at Castle Howard, nr York - www.castlehoward.co.uk/metadot/index.pl?id=2698 

Historic Houses

North Yorkshire is noted for the number and quality of the historic houses open to the public. Their websites will suggest events and activities as well as a preview of the house. 

Duncombe Park, Helmsley - www.duncombepark.com

Castle Howard, York - www.castlehoward.co.uk

Newby Hall, Ripon - www.newbyhall.com

Nunnington Hall, Nunnington, Nr York - www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Sledmere House, Nr Driffield - www.sledmerehouse.com

Hovingham Hall, Hovingham - www.hovingham.co.uk

Fairfax House, York - www.fairfaxhouse.co.uk

Thorpe Perrow, Bedale - www.thorpperrow.com

Sion Hill Hall and Bird of Prey Centre, Thirsk - http://www.sionhillhall.co.uk/

Burton Agnes Hall, Elizabethan House with garden and grounds - www.burton-agnes.co.uk

Burton Constable Hall, - www.burtonconstable.com

For an erudite historical view of Ryedale and a 16C tour guide, - www.visionofbritain.org.uk

Museums

There are plenty of museums within easy reach, with our local Beck Isle Museum in Pickering having farming, printing and housework items. The Castle Museum collection in York was originally offered to Pickering town by its local Doctor Kirk.

Beck Isle Museum, Pickering – www.beckislemuseum.co.uk 

Ryedale Folk Museum, Hutton le Hole - http://www.ryedalefolkmuseum.co.uk/

Eden Camp, Malton - www.edencamp.co.uk 

York Castle Museum – https://www.yorkcastlemuseum.org.uk/

National Railway Museum (NRM), York – www.nrm.org.uk 

The Norwich Union Yorkshire Wheel, the National Railway Museum, York - www.nrm.org.uk/events/wheel.asp

Captain Cook Memorial Museum, Whitby – www.cookmuseumwhitby.co.uk 

Yorkshire Air Museum, York – www.yorkshireairmuseum.co.uk

Yorkshire Museum, York – www.yorkshiremuseum.org.uk

Theatres

There are excellent theatres within an hour of your cottage. There is a charming traditional cinema in Malton with a bar you can visit during the show interval. Check the websites and book tickets to be sure of your seats for your special evening.

Palace Cinema, Malton - www.palacemalton.com

Helmsley Arts Centre, Helmsley - http://www.helmsleyarts.co.uk/

Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough - www.sjt.uk.com 

York Theatre Royal, York – www.yorktheatreroyal.co.uk

Harrogate Theatre, Harrogate - www.harrogatetheatre.co.uk

Coast

Cliffs, coves and smugglers with fossils and curious pretty villages are the themes on the coast. If there’s a sea mist then turn inland for a country house or a shopping trip.

Whitby Coast – www.yorkshirenet.co.uk

Sands End, near Whitby – www.pbase.com/rico101/sands_end

Robin Hoods Bay - www.robin-hoods-bay.co.uk

Runswick Bay – www.runswick.com

Ravenscar – www.coastaltourism.co.uk

Staithes ‘Dinosaur Coast’ – www.staithes-town.info

Collecting Fossils in Saltwick Bay, Runswick Bay and Port Mulgrave - www.portmulgrave.ukfossils.co.uk

Other Attractions

There’s plenty to do in and around Pickering from active activities to relaxing, taking in this wonderful part of the North Yorkshire. 

North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway, Pickering – www.nymr.co.uk

Go Ape! at Dalby Forest, nr Thornton le Dale – a firm favourite of guests! www.forestry.gov.uk/dalbyforest

Friends of Dalby Forest - www.friendsofdalbyforest.org.uk

Bridestones, Dalby forest - www.nationaltrust.org.uk 

Trailways on the coastal trail, Whitby - www.trailways.info 

Rosedale Abbey - www.dalesman.co.uk/walks/rosedale.htm 

Badger watching - www.forestry.gov.uk/forestry/Badger 

Badger Watching, Cropton Forest - http://www.northyorkmoors.org.uk/visiting/enjoy-outdoors/wildlife-watching

Pony trekking and lessons, Sinnington – www.friarshillstables.co.uk 

Snainton Riding Centre, Snainton – www.snaintonridingcentre.co.uk 

Kirkbymoorside Golf Club, Kirkbymoorside - www.kirkbymoorsidegolf.co.uk

Rosedale Golf Course, Rosedale - www.rosedaleabbeygolf.co.uk 

Bird Watching, Forge Valley Scarborough - www.tka.co.uk/yoc/watching.htm 

Clay Pigeon Shooting, Ebberston - http://goballistic.co.uk

Galleries

There are many artists and galleries around Ryedale, which are well worth a visit.

Sophie Hamilton Pottery, High Marishes, Malton - www.sophiehamilton.co.uk

Decorative table ware and pots fired on site. 

Gillies Jones Glass, Rosedale Abbey -www.gilliesjonesglass.co.uk

Internationally important blowers. They have pieces in the modern art spot in New York. 

Turnstone Gallery, Sandsend - www.turnstonegallery.net 

A lovely gallery of some of the excellent local artists. The website gives good examples of their work. Good to combine with a wonderful afternoon tea next door and seeing the 'golden' fossils on the shale pavement north of the car park. 

The Gallery, Ryedale Folk Museum, Hutton le Hole – a very interesting and informative day out! www.ryedalefolkmuseum.co.uk

Each year many artists open their studios to the public - www.art-connections.org.uk